Auto Insurance in Kansas: The Best Options For You

Kansas drivers have a wide range of car insurance rates like other states. The following guide is meant to help you find the best car insurance for your needs and budget in Kansas.

Auto Insurance in Kansas

Car Insurance Requirements

Kansas has no-fault insurance laws which mean that every driver must have their own personal injury protection policy even if they do not own a car. For accidents where another driver is at fault, this coverage pays for injuries to the other driver and passengers up to $25,000 per person with a total of up to $50,000 per accident. This also covers damage to the other party’s vehicle. Personal injury protection will also cover your medical expenses and lost income if you are unable to work during the accident.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Kansas

Drivers with a clean driving record can often find their car insurance rates reduced when they have six or more years of driving experience. No matter the age, drivers in Kansas can choose to add their teen driver to their policies in order to save money on the teen’s insurance rates. Teen rules in Kansas include a nighttime curfew and a ban on using a cell phone while driving, and they must complete a state-approved driver’s education course in order to be eligible for their license. No matter what age you are, if you have previous driving violations or a poor credit history, your car insurance rates will likely reflect that in the quotes you receive.

Best Car Insurance Companies in Kansas

There are many different insurance companies in Kansas, some offering better rates than others depending on your age, driving history and other factors. Some of the most well-known, affordable car insurance companies in the state include:

  • Geico
  • Travelers Insurance
  • Allstate
  • State Farm
  • Farmers Insurance
  • Universal Property and Casualty
  • Auto-Owners Insurance Company
  • Cooperators General Insurance Company of America
  • National Continental Insurance Company
  • Kemper Specialty Auto
  • Auto Club Group/AAA Motor Club of the Midwestern

Compare Kansas Quotes Online

In order to receive the cheapest car insurance quotes from a variety of companies, use our free tool above which will allow you to compare prices from several companies at once. Your state may also offer additional discounts through certain organizations or associations that you can add to your policy for an even lower rate.

Drivers With a DUI in Kansas

Currently, the State of Kansas does not have any special rules or penalties for drivers with DUIs that are different from other drivers. For more information on each state’s laws and regulations check out our article titled ” Driving Under the Influence “

Drivers With Tickets in Kansas

There are no special rules or regulations regarding tickets and insurance in Kansas. For more information on each state’s laws and regulations check out our article titled ” Traffic Tickets “.

Drivers With Bad Credit in Kansas

Kansas has a fairly high-interest rate for drivers with poor credit compared to other states (roughly 26% higher than the national average). If you have bad credit, you will have a harder time finding cheap car insurance in Kansas because of the increased interest rates that most car insurance companies offer with low credit scores.

Seniors in Kansas

There are no special rules or regulations regarding auto insurance for seniors in Kansas.

Student Drivers in Kansas

There are no special rules or regulations regarding insurance for student drivers in Kansas. For more information on each state’s laws and regulations check out our article titled ” Parent or Supervisor Added onto Your Policy “.

Military Drivers in Kansas

There are no special rules or regulations regarding military drivers and car insurance in Kansas. For more information on each state’s laws and regulations check out our article ” Getting Car Insurance as a Military Family “.

Car Insurance in Kansas

The state of Kansas requires all drivers operating motor vehicles to have liability coverage for bodily injury or death. The state also requires that drivers have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to help protect them if they are involved in an accident with another driver who does not carry sufficient insurance.

Insurance Coverage Requirements in Kansas

Kansas drivers are required to carry liability coverage for bodily injury or death, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) as part of their car insurance policy. PIP covers medical expenses incurred by the insured driver and all passengers during an accident regardless of who is at fault.

How Much Car Insurance Coverage in Kansas?

Kansas drivers must carry liability insurance covering bodily injury or death per person, per accident. The minimum limits for this coverage are currently set at $25,000/$50,000 but can vary depending on the age of the insured driver and the number of family members covered under the policy.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Kansas

The average cost of car insurance in Kansas for a single driver is about $802 per year, which is 26% higher than the national average. A family can expect to pay around $1,543 annually on their auto insurance costs which are 7% higher than the national average.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Kansas by Age

Getting car insurance as a teenager can be very expensive, especially if you are a male. The average cost for auto insurance coverage is about $2,841 per year for teenage drivers before any discounts or exemptions are applied which is more than 3 times the national average.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Kansas by Gender

The average cost for insurance coverage is different for male drivers than it is for female drivers. For men, the average annual cost of car insurance is $871 compared to $803 per year for women which is a difference of 7%.

Drivers With DUIs in Kansas

Kansas has separate penalties and rules for drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence. A first-time DUI conviction will result in a mandatory license suspension of 30 days and a maximum fine of $2,500. A second offence results in a minimum imprisonment of ten days, a maximum fine of $5,000, and an automatic 1-year license suspension.

Conclusion 

We hope this guide has helped you find the best car insurance for your needs and budget in Kansas. If not, don’t worry! You can call us anytime to help you with that process or send us a message on social media. Feel free to reach out anytime so we can get started designing an auto insurance policy just for you. And of course, if there are any changes in laws or requirements- things like minimum coverage levels changing-we will be sure to let you know about them too. Good luck finding the right deal today!

STEP (2/3)

Enter Your FF UID

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top