Auto Insurance in New Hampshire: Compare Rates & Save

Drivers in New Hampshire are required to carry auto insurance by state law. Drivers who fail to meet this requirement face fines and the possible loss of their driver’s license. New Hampshire has no-fault insurance laws which require drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) car insurance for injuries sustained in car accidents regardless of fault. The minimum amount of PIP coverage is $20,000.

Auto Insurance in New Hampshire

New Hampshire also requires that drivers carry uninsured motorist insurance in case they are in an accident with a driver who does not have auto insurance. Uninsured motorist coverage protects you against another driver when he or she doesn’t have the minimum legal liability insurance to pay for injuries caused in an accident.

State law also requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of property damage liability insurance which covers damage done to another person or persons’ property in the event you get into a car accident. New Hampshire state law requires a minimum of $25,000 for damages from one accident.

Cheapest Car Insurance in New Hampshire

Drivers in New Hampshire have the cheapest car insurance rates in any state. In 2011, drivers paid an average rate of $795 for car insurance – 58% more than the national average.

Best Car Insurance Companies

New Hampshire has a list of approved car insurance companies that are required by state law to offer their policies to New Hampshire. The only company not currently on the list is USAA, which offers military discounts to armed forces members and their families.

Compare New Hampshire Quotes Online

Drivers can compare rates from car insurance companies in New Hampshire by entering their zip code at the top of this page.

Average Cost of Car Insurance

In 2011, the average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire was $795 per year – 58% more than the national average rate of $503 that year.

Drivers With a DUI in New Hampshire

New Hampshire drivers face two penalties if they are convicted of drunk driving. First, their driver’s license will be suspended for 60 days to six months. Second, offenders must pay $1,000 in fines and surcharges.

Drivers With Tickets in New Hampshire

New Hampshire drivers who get speeding tickets or other traffic violations can expect to see their rates rise since insurance companies in the state use traffic violations as a rating factor.

Drivers With Bad Credit

State law prohibits car insurance companies from denying coverage to drivers with poor credit. However, it is likely that drivers with bad credit will pay higher rates than those with good credit since insurers consider risk factors like credit score when determining rates.

Seniors in New Hampshire

Drivers age 55 and older qualify for a discount on their car insurance premiums. Drivers who are 55 or older are eligible for an even greater discount if they have been driving for nine years or longer without any traffic violations or accidents on record.

Student Drivers in New Hampshire

New Hampshire is unique among states in that it has a Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) program for new drivers under 18 years old. The GDL year consists of three stages, the first of which is an instructional permit that lasts six months. During this time, young drivers cannot have more passengers in their vehicles than there are seat belts, and they must complete 60 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with a licensed driver.

Military Drivers in New Hampshire

New Hampshire requires any person who has been called to active military duty and has their car registered in New Hampshire to carry a minimum coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. The insured driver must also notify his or her insurance company that they are now on active duty for at least 30 days.

Car Insurance in New Hampshire

State law requires New Hampshire drivers to carry at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance and $50,000 in property damage liability insurance. Drivers must also be insured for at least $3,500 to cover damages they may cause as a result of fire or theft.

How much is the average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire?

The average rate for New Hampshire drivers was $795 per year.

How much will my monthly car insurance premiums be with a DUI on my record?

Your premiums can increase by as much as 25% with a DUI on your record.

What is New Hampshire’s minimum required amount of car insurance coverage?

Drivers must carry $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance and $50,000 in property damage liability insurance.

Do teenagers need to have their own auto insurance policy?

Under the state’s graduated driver licensing system, newly licensed drivers under the age of 18 are required to have a driver’s education certificate. Also, young drivers cannot have more than one passenger in their vehicle unless they are family members. New Hampshire also requires all teenagers with an instruction permit, provisional license or regular license to wear seat belts at all times.

How much will my rates increase after a speeding ticket?

The cost of auto insurance in New Hampshire can increase by as much as 20% for a speeding violation.

I’m on active duty with the military and have registration and car insurance in New Hampshire. What do I need to do?

Anyone called to active military duty must notify their insurance company of the change in status, and be sure to carry at least $25,000 in liability coverage if they have a car registered in New Hampshire.

Conclusion

We’ve got you covered if you’re looking for the cheapest car insurance in New Hampshire. In this article, we talked about some of the best ways to find a quality policy that meets your needs and budget without breaking the bank. We also discussed how drivers with DUI’s can still get affordable coverage as well as what options are available for seniors or student drivers who need auto insurance in NH. Finally, we outlined the average costs of car insurance by the company so you can make an informed decision when comparing quotes online from different providers. Good luck with finding cheap full coverage!

STEP (3/3)

Click Button To Show Code

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top