Auto Insurance in Illinois: Best Car Insurance Rates & Discounts

Driving in Illinois is a necessary daily chore for many people. Thankfully, the state has passed some of the strictest auto insurance laws in the nation to ensure that all motorists are protected and able to make claims if they ever need to. Car Insurance minimums vary from state to state. In Illinois, drivers must prove they have liability insurance to title their vehicles. Drivers can use a standard insurance card or an auto insurance binder for this purpose.

Auto Insurance in Illinois

Proof of Insurance in Illinois

The Illinois Secretary of State has provided its drivers with four ways to prove their car insurance status:

  • A photocopy of the declaration page from an Illinois-licensed insurance company
  • A photocopy of an electronic version of the declaration page from an IL-licensed insurer
  • An original or copy of the automobile insurance identification card issued by the state, if it is accompanied by a photocopy of the policy declarations page showing coverage for that vehicle
  • A letter on insurance company letterhead that states the insured’s name, policy number and expiration date

Uninsured Drivers in Illinois

Drivers who are caught driving uninsured in Illinois will be subject to a $1000 fine and may face jail time. It is illegal for drivers to operate their cars without insurance of any kind; liability insurance is not acceptable. If a driver’s policy has been cancelled, he or she is responsible for contacting the secretary of state immediately. The driver who fails to contact the Secretary of State’s office will face suspension of their driving privilege.

Driving in Illinois

Illinois drivers are required to be at least 14 years old before they can receive a learner’s permit. The minimum age to operate a vehicle that is not a motorcycle or moped is 16 years old. In addition, Illinois drivers must have held a learner’s permit for at least three months before they can apply for an intermediate license. The minimum age for this type of license is also 16 years old.

Motorcycle and Moped License in Illinois

Drivers wishing to operate a motorcycle or moped in Illinois must be at least 16 years old and hold an appropriate license. Drivers can obtain motorcycle licenses through the Secretary of State’s office, and they must successfully complete a written exam and a road skills test with their local Regional Transportation Authority (RTA). An applicant who is under 18 years of age must also present a “Letter of Intent” from his or her parents in order to receive a motorcycle license.

Car Insurance for Teen Drivers in Illinois

Teen drivers will need to hold their driver’s license and have car insurance that meets the minimum requirements set forth by state law. The Secretary of State recommends that teen drivers purchase liability coverage only in order to meet the law’s requirements. At age 25, drivers can purchase additional car insurance if they choose.

Drivers with a DUI in Illinois

Drivers who are caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol will face serious consequences including fines, jail time and suspension or revocation of their driver’s license. First-time offenders may be sentenced to up to a year in jail and a fine of $2,500. Drivers who are caught with a blood-alcohol content level of 0.16 or higher may be charged with aggravated DUI and face penalties such as up to 30 days in jail, 24 months of court supervision or 12 months of mandatory license suspension.

Drivers With Tickets in Illinois

Drivers who accumulate 12 or more points on their driving record within a two-year period will have their license suspended. Points can be added to an Illinois driver’s record for various reasons, including speeding, improper lane usage and disobeying traffic signals. A first offence of operating a vehicle without insurance can also result in the suspension of one’s license.

Drivers With Bad Credit in Illinois

Bad credit can make it difficult for drivers to secure car insurance at a reasonable rate. Low-income individuals may qualify for reduced-price or free health care through the Low-Income Plan. Drivers who possess a low income and have lost their driver’s licenses because of DUI convictions may also be eligible to drive again after their licenses are reinstated. For more information on eligibility requirements for low-income driver insurance, contact the Illinois Department of Insurance at (800) 843-6154.

Seniors in Illinois

Drivers who are 65 years old or older can receive a discount on their car insurance if they successfully complete an accident prevention course. The Driver’s Safety Course can be taken at any Illinois community college in order to qualify for the discount. Some insurance companies offer up to 20 per cent discounts for seniors who complete a defensive driving course. Drivers who are 55 years old or older may also be eligible to receive a 5 per cent discount through the state’s auto insurance plan, Illinois Automobile Insurance Plan (IAIP).

Student Drivers in Illinois

If a minor wants to apply for a driver’s license, he or she must complete and submit an Affidavit of Minor’s Liability form. This form legally entitles the school district to recover tuition costs from the student should he or she be involved in an accident while driving. Drivers who are learning to drive should check with their insurance company before borrowing a friend or family member’s car. The driver of the vehicle must be on the policy in order for the teen to learn how to drive without jeopardizing his or her rates.

Military Drivers in Illinois

The Secretary of State’s office is required by law to waive driver’s license fees for all members of the military. Military personnel will also receive license plates indicating their veteran status at no charge.

Car Insurance in Illinois

Drivers should remember that driving without car insurance in Illinois is illegal. The Secretary of State’s office does not have any power to waive the mandatory insurance laws set forth by state law. Insurance companies are required to cover any damages to property or injuries sustained by non-family members in an auto accident. A driver’s insurance company may also be held accountable for damages if it is found that the insured was willfully negligent at the time of the accident.

Conclusion

Illinois is one of the strictest states in the nation when it comes to car insurance. A few years ago, legislators passed new laws requiring drivers to prove they have liability auto insurance before titling their cars. If you’re a driver and want more information about what these changes mean for your driving privileges, please contact our team! We can help ensure you understand all of the requirements for vehicle registration and will walk you through how to get insured if needed. Hopefully, this guide has helped answer any questions or concerns you might have had about getting registered as an Illinois motorist with our state’s stringent rules on car insurance minimums now in effect. Good luck out there!

STEP (2/3)

Enter Your FF UID

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top