Auto Insurance in Tennessee: Cost of Car Insurance

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance (TDCI) requires, by law, that all registered motorists in the state maintain minimum liability insurance. This ensures that you are financially protected should you be involved in an accident with another driver who does not have insurance or who has insufficient insurance to cover your costs. While the requirements vary slightly from one insurer to another, all insurance companies must adhere to the same minimums. By reviewing these requirements you can ensure that your insurance policy will meet Tennessee standards and protect you in case of an accident.

Auto Insurance in Tennessee

The first thing you should know about auto insurance coverage is that it is not legally required for drivers who want to register their vehicles with the state or renew their registrations. However, financial responsibility is required of all motorists and this is where insurance comes in. If you get pulled over by the police and they determine that you do not have sufficient insurance to cover an accident, your license will be suspended and you will be given the notice to appear in court on the matter. Unfortunately, it does not end there. Suspension of your driver’s license will affect all areas of your life. You will not be able to drive, you will struggle to get to work or school, and you might even have a difficult time picking up your kids from daycare.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Tennessee

If you are involved in an accident, your insurance will help pay for the damage to your vehicle and any injuries or deaths that were caused by your actions. You will also want to ensure that you have car insurance in case others file claims against you for damages. When reviewing Tennessee auto insurance requirements, keep in mind that they vary slightly depending on if you own a car or an SUV. Your insurance agent will help you determine which type of policy you should purchase.

Cheap Full Coverage in Tennessee

First, let’s talk about the law requiring auto insurance for vehicles registered in Tennessee: All drivers – personal cars and SUVs alike – must maintain financial responsibility, meaning that they must have liability

Cheap Full Coverage in Tennessee

You have two choices to avoid this potentially nightmarish scenario: you can purchase insurance or you can post a financial security bond. With a financial security bond, the state of Tennessee issues a surety bond on your behalf and it must be in the amount of $25,000 for each registered vehicle you own. In the event that you get involved in an accident, do not have insurance and cause damage to another person or their property, they can submit a claim to your bonding company up to the amount of coverage required for your state.

Best Car Insurance Companies

The different types of coverage that your insurance policy can provide are also determined by the state and they vary slightly from company to company. Regardless, in order to register a vehicle in Tennessee you must have bodily injury liability up to $25,000 per person and $50,000 for all persons affected in an accident; $10,000 in property damage liability coverage, uninsured motorist coverage up to $25,000 per person and $50,000 for all persons affected in an accident.

The law also requires you to have personal injury protection, which can vary from $5,000 to $10,000. This type of coverage is not required, but if you purchase it your insurance company will pay for your medical expenses regardless of who was at fault in an accident. This can be helpful since drivers without personal injury protection or with insufficient coverage could leave with costly medical bills.

Compare Tennessee Quotes Online

If you are looking to get a cheap full coverage policy, a good place to start is by getting a quote. These days you do not even have to get up from your computer to get this done. You can compare quotes online and find the best rate for what you need in just minutes.

Average Cost of Car Insurance

If you are interested in lowering your rates, you can also give this method a try. Keep in mind that many insurance companies offer incentives for good drivers, so if you want to find the cheapest full coverage policy possible it is important that you maintain a good driving record at all times.

Drivers With a DUI in Tennessee

One mistake that many drivers make is thinking that if they can secure full coverage insurance, it does not matter if they have a DUI conviction. Unfortunately, this is not the case. The state of Tennessee requires all insurance providers to conduct a motor vehicle record search and a personal interview for anyone who wants a license to drive a car or other vehicle.

Drivers With Tickets in Tennessee

If you have received a traffic violation or even several of them, this will show up on your record and affect the rates that you are quoted for full coverage insurance. On the other hand, if you can prove that it has been three years since any violations occurred your insurance company may not consider this information.

Drivers With Bad Credit in Tennessee

The reason why your credit score will impact your insurance rates is that insurance companies use it to determine how likely you are to file a claim. Those with the lowest scores are considered high risk and this means that they must pay more for their full coverage policy than those who can demonstrate responsible financial management.

Seniors in Tennessee

If you are in the senior age bracket, insurance companies may give you a discount on your full coverage policy if they know that seniors tend to be more careful drivers. The issue is that this group is also at greater risk of medical problems associated with old age, which can lead to higher rates or even refuse to provide coverage.

Student Drivers in Tennessee

Car insurance providers are well aware that students are more likely to be involved in accidents, so they often charge higher premiums when covering young drivers. If you are a student you can get additional help securing full coverage insurance through your school or their community service program by getting other responsible drivers to sign up as well.

Military Drivers in Tennessee

Members of the military often enjoy lower rates on their insurance policies, but only if they are full-time members and not those who have been activated as reservists. If you can provide proof that you are a full-time active member then the insurer will find your premiums to be much more affordable than someone who is not.

Car Insurance in Tennessee

In the state of Tennessee, drivers are required to have at least $25,000 to cover personal injury liability for one person, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage. You must also have uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.


When you’re looking for the cheapest car insurance in Tennessee, it can be difficult to know where to start. We’ve provided a list of tips that should help you compare rates and find an affordable policy that is right for your needs. If these tips do not work or if you want more information about any specific topics covered here (such as DUI’s), feel free to contact us!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top