Auto Insurance in West Virginia: More About Details

Drivers in West Virginia must have minimum liability coverage on their cars. In the event that an at-fault driver does not have insurance, drivers in West Virginia are protected by the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law. The MVRRL mandates that after a crash, uninsured motorists will be charged a fee to register their vehicle with the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Auto Insurance in West Virginia

Drivers in West Virginia must carry the minimum liability requirements of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage. Drivers must also carry $10,000 in property damage coverage. Drivers in West Virginia who opt out of purchasing insurance will be faced with a fine if they are caught by the West Virginia DMV.

To be considered full coverage, drivers must also carry uninsured motorist coverage if another driver does not have insurance to pay for damages caused when driving their car. Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is required at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. It is also important to note that the MVRRL applies only when looking for compensation from other drivers, not damage to one’s own vehicle.

Cars with certain modifications are prohibited in West Virginia by the DMV. Specifically, studded tyres are not allowed during winter because they can damage roads and pose a potential hazard to drivers in poor conditions. It is important to check with the DMV in West Virginia before planning a road trip if studded tyres are not allowed in the area.

Current list of banned/disqualified drivers

You cannot register, license, or renew your driver’s license if you meet the following conditions (will be disqualified).

1. Your driver’s license is currently suspended, revoked, or cancelled in any state.

2. Your driver’s license is classified as a probationary one.

3. You are subject to an alcohol-related or drug-related administrative action taken against your driving privilege by the West Virginia DMV or any other administrative agency in this state, including suspensions, revocations, cancellations, or refusals of your license.

4. You do not have a valid driver’s license.

5. You are under 18 years old and have been adjudicated by the family court to be incorrigible or delinquent.

6. Your car is uninsured while driving on West Virginia roads. Auto Insurance in West Virginia

7. Your car is not registered with the DMV while driving on West Virginia roads. Registration in West Virginia

8. Law requires you to deposit security, but no security has been deposited.

9. You have failed to pay fines or costs due for any traffic violation imposed on your driver’s license pursuant to the law of another state or imposed by any court of record.

10. You have failed to appear before the DMV Commissioner, any other officer authorized to conduct a hearing on matters relating to motor vehicles, or an authorized representative of the DMV Commissioner or forfeited your right to a hearing regarding your driver’s license where legal requirements are met. Auto Insurance in West Virginia.

11. You have not complied with a suspension, revocation, cancellation, disqualification or withdrawal of your driving privilege by the DMV Commissioner in another state and such noncompliance is based upon incidents that would justify such action if committed in West Virginia.

12. Your license has been suspended for failure to maintain financial responsibility under W.Va. Code 17C-14A-2 and the suspension has been in effect for two years or more.

13. Your driving privilege has been revoked, suspended or cancelled by a state under circumstances that would authorize such action if committed in West Virginia. It has been at least one year since you received notice of such revocation, suspension or cancellation.

14. You have failed to meet financial responsibility as required by W.Va. Code 17C-10-7 and have not made instalment payment arrangements acceptable to the DMV Commissioner as provided in the article.

15. A court has ordered that your driver’s license be revoked, suspended, cancelled or recalled for anything other than parking or defective vehicle equipment violations.

16. You are required to deposit security for your future proof of financial responsibility but the deposit has not been made within the time limits prescribed by law, and you have failed to make instalment payment arrangements acceptable to the DMV Commissioner as provided in W.Va. Code 17C-10-7.

17. You owned a vehicle that was involved in an accident and you failed to give notice of such accident as required by W.Va. Code 17C-5A-1 within fourteen (14) days after the date of such accident.

18. For violations occurring prior to January 1, 2008, your driver’s license has been suspended pursuant to the provisions of W.Va. Code 17C-5A-1(b) or (c) and you have not completed the mandatory period of the suspension.

19. You did not receive a compulsory examination within fifteen (15) days after your license was revoked, suspended, cancelled or recalled because of mental or physical disability.

20. You have not complied with the provisions of W.Va. Code 17C-15A(a)-(g) and you have been convicted of a moving vehicle violation within a three-year period after your driving privilege was last revoked, suspended, cancelled or recalled for other than parking or defective vehicle equipment violations.

You have to wait 35 seconds.
Generating Next Step:

Conclusion

If you’re looking for the cheapest car insurance in West Virginia, we hope this guide has helped. Whether you are a college student with a DUI or someone who just received their first ticket, finding the right coverage can be difficult. Thankfully there are many ways to find affordable rates and save money on premiums – from comparing quotes online to working with an agent that specializes in these discounts – so don’t give up! Remember it’s never too late to make changes as long as you have time left before renewal day. Good luck out there!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top